The MGS story began on 15 August 1887 in a small room on the upper level of 33 Short Street. There, nine Tamil girls and a group of Methodist missionaries, including Miss Sophia Blackmore, gathered for a dedication service to mark the official founding of the Tamil Girls’ School, which eventually became known as the Methodist Girls’ School.
On 15 August 2017, exactly 130 years from the school’s founding, the MGS Heritage Centre was officially opened by Mrs Anna Tham to celebrate the rich heritage of MGS and continue to tell her story to future generations of girls. Anyone interested in learning more about the Methodist Girls’ School is welcome to visit the Heritage Centre during our Open Days.
MGS Corporate Video
Portrait of an MGS Girl
MGS Alumnae Mdm Tan Mui Ha sings the first MGS school song
The MGS school anthem sung by the Alumnae Choir at the Thanksgiving Service in 2017.